Google Announces Incognito Mode for Maps and Other Privacy Features

Privacy and Google are two words that do not seem to match, but the company has been trying to change this perception: this Wednesday (2), the company announced an anonymous mode for the Google Maps, in addition to new privacy features for YouTube it’s the Google Assistant.

Google - privacy

Let’s start with Google Maps. By activating the tool’s incognito mode – a feature announced by the company in May – your activities on the service, such as locations searched, will not be recorded in your account. Because of this, this data will also not be used to personalize your Maps experience.

Enabling the feature is simple: in the Google Maps app for Android or iOS, just tap on your profile icon to the right of the search bar and choose the option to incognito.

Google Maps - Incognito

On YouTube, the novelty is due to the option to automatically clear the activity history, which includes watched videos and terms searched on the platform.

From now on, you can configure YouTube to automatically delete this data after three or 18 months. If you prefer, you can simply keep this option set to manual – the history will only be cleared when you perform this action.

YouTube - history clearing

As for Google Assistant, the novelty is the possibility of giving voice commands to delete recent questions asked to the service. For that, you can say to Google Assistant phrases like “Hey Google, delete the last thing I told you” or “Hey Google, delete everything I told you this week”.

The data in question will be deleted immediately, unless you ask for conversations made more than a week ago to be deleted. In that circumstance, the Google Assistant will open a configuration page so that you can perform the procedure there.

Google Assistant - delete

Google Maps anonymous browsing will be available on Android later this month and will come to iOS a little later. YouTube’s automatic history clearing function will be available to all users soon.

Regarding Google Assistant, the company says that the new commands will start working next week, but only in English. Other languages ​​will support the new feature starting next month.

It is worth remembering that, also on Wednesday (2), Google announced a function that notifies you when your password is leaked.

Leave a Comment