Disney + will have to pass Marvel and Pixar movies to Netflix – Internet

Disney revealed more details about its future streaming service, which will debut in the US in November: Disney + will be released with 600 series and films, including exclusive content from Star Wars, Marvel and Pixar. The catalog will lose some movies to Netflix over time, including Avengers: Infinity War and Captain America: Civil War – but it should take a while.

Avengers Infinity War

This will happen because Disney struck a deal with Netflix long before thinking about creating a streaming service. So, according to CEO Bob Iger, some popular films released between 2016 and 2018 will go to the competitor in about six years; he doesn’t mention which ones.

According to the Bloomberg, the contract with Netflix involves all the films released by Disney between January 2016 and December 2018. This includes Avengers: Infinity War, Captain America: Civil War, Thor: Ragnarok, Star Wars: The Last Jedi, The Incredibles 2, among others. They will have to leave Disney + and go to the competitor starting in 2026.

Even so, the CEO points out that the catalog of the new service will be large, including films that were in the “Disney Vault”: these are some titles that stopped being sold for a few years until they were relaunched. The company created this artificial shortage so that animations like Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Pinocchio and Dumbo were rediscovered by new generations.

“If you want to download 10 classic Disney movies that may not have been available at the same time, you can do that, basically fill up your entire hard drive on one device, and you and your child will be able to watch wherever they are,” he said. Iger during an event held by Vanity Fair.

Disney + to be released with six Marvel films

Disney + will debut in the US with around 600 titles, including series and films since 1937, starting with Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. Last week, the official Twitter accountposted all items that will be in the service catalog at launch.

However, the Digital Spy noticed that initially there will only be six Marvel films:

  • Captain Marvel
  • Iron Man
  • Iron Man 3
  • Ant Man
  • Thor the Dark World
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron

In December, in the month following the launch, the catalog will receive Avengers: Endgame with exclusivity. Marvel’s other successes are expected to be included over time.

Leave a Comment