Chrome and Firefox to hide website requests to send notifications | Applications and Software

Website notifications are like pop-ups: they even had some use in the beginning, but they quickly became misused and became annoying. So much so that the Google Chrome it’s the Mozilla Firefox plan to end notification requests: windows will be hidden by default and the user will have to actively click on a button in the address bar to start receiving alerts on the desktop.

Mozilla Firefox 70 with change in notifications

Firefox is the first to make changes for more users. As of version 70, notification requests still appear, but with two options: “Allow” and “Never” (before, the buttons were “Allow” and “Not now”). In Firefox 72, there will only be a discreet notification icon in the address bar: the user must click on it for the order to appear on the screen.

Mozilla explains that, for a month, Firefox 63 users received 1.45 billion notification requests and only 23.66 million were accepted – that is, almost 99% were unsuccessful. In addition, on nearly 500 million orders, users actively rejected notifications, taking the time to press “Not now”.

Google Chrome 78 with changes in notifications

In Chrome, the change is in testing. In the current version 78, you can access chrome: // flags / # quiet-notification-prompts and activate the option “Quieter notification permission prompts”. That way, when a website tries to show a notification request, the browser will display the message “Notifications blocked”. You will need to click on the button and then “Allow for this site” to receive them.

Misused notifications

O Bleeping Computer notes that low-quality ad networks have taken advantage of the notification feature to spread spam. In one of the sample advertisements, the user is prompted to click the enable notifications button to be able to watch a video.

As it is not trivial to disable notifications later, which are displayed on the desktop even if you are visiting another website, or in some cases even if the browser is closed, the feature ends up directing victims to malware, unwanted software and adult websites.

Leave a Comment